On 7 November 1810, Liverpool became the first town founded by Governor Lachlan Macquarie.

Lord Liverpool

Governor Macquarie named Liverpool after Robert Banks Jenkinson, otherwise known as the 2nd Earl of Liverpool. Jenkinson was the Secretary of the Colonies when Governor Lachlan Macquarie founded Liverpool in 1810. Later known as Lord Liverpool, he became both the youngest and the longest-serving Prime Minister of the United Kingdom since 1806. read more.

The society welcomes donations of ephemera, items of local interest and collections. Cash donations and bequests are also very welcome.

The City of Liverpool & District Historical Society Est 1959. Watch our Video.


This website was funded by a grant from the Royal Australian Historical Society.