Our History

Our society was established in 1959 by a small group of residents who were from old Liverpool families such as Fitzpatrick, Collimore, Rowe, Kelly, Hill and Havard. They were proud of Liverpool’s history and were committed to preserving and promoting its unique story. Their first meeting was held at the old Liverpool Town Hall on Moore Street in 1959 and was presided over by the then Mayor Ron Dunbier who was also a member. Since then, the society has lead a nomadic existence in its search to find a home. From the old Liverpool Hospital/TAFE to the now demolished Colonial Hall to the Old Court House to our once home at the Bi-centennial Museum. In the fourth oldest town in Australia, we are still looking for an appropriate heritage place to call a permanent home. Our collection is currently stored in ’Eber’s Bunker’ under Liverpool Library. We look forward to the day when we will have a home for some of our approximately 10,000 items to be permanently displayed for residents and visitors to Liverpool to enjoy, learn and understand our rich and unique history

Governor Lachlan Macquarie

Liverpool Hospital

St Luke's Church